Tempus Realms

Top | News | Realm | Classes | Clans | Mud Stories | Real Life | World | Newbies

New Player Retention
Azkajamalad Posted 26 Jun 2009

Another concern in relation to mob difficulty is player retention.

What's it going to take to keep a genuinely new player on Tempus?

What are elements of discouragement that we've witnessed?

What keeps newer players going past those difficulties?

Glint Posted 30 Jun 2009

For me, there were two major topics that was very frustrating me when I was a newbie.

#1. The helpfulness of other players.

#2. The mob difficulty.

Although at some points of my gaming experience on Tempus could be frustrating, I had a major boost compared to normal newbies. I had very experienced parents who could help me every time I screamed :D Don't get me wrong, some characters are very helpful with tons of information. You don't even need to know a lot about Tempus, just a friendly face is encouraging, (take Sekka for example :P). But I got very annoyed when there was a silence after i asked a question. Well, now I know that sometimes they might not know the answer, or that they are afk. But I never liked to be simply ignored, especially in my time of need. To change this, we all need to show effort, together as a MUD. And if we put our effort forward now, there will be more people in future. This is very appealing as a newbie, seeing many people on the wholist who are ready to help.

Along with the silences, the mob difficulty always brought me down. I was constantly screaming, both in my head and out loud, "WHEN AM I GOING TO GET THIS LEVEL?!?!?". Leveling was a challenge every day, and it left my angry and wanting to rent as soon as I could. This isn't something that we as mortals can fix, because the newbies won't really learn anything in my mind if they just get spammed to level 49. It is up to the immortals to make easier zones, or lessen the mob difficulty of already existing zones :D